Throwback

I realize I will never be someone who posts consistently, at least not until my life gets a little more exciting. Let’s be honest, that won’t be happening anytime soon.IMG_8312.JPG

         A month or so ago I went to a global health conference, while it wasn’t as good as it was last year, it wasn’t awful. I meant to write about this prior to today, but it just didn’t happen. I feel that in order to fully get the feel for the weekend I have to start from the beginning of the weekend. I went to this conference with the professor I really don’t like, a male who has refused to talk to me since November since I wasn’t interested in having a relationship with him, a woman who I can’t stand, and 2 complete strangers (both of which who ended up to be very nice). All but one of us rode in the same car. I was unpleasantly stuck in the middle seat in the back for 6 hours. Needless to say it was a long ride.
         Of course we stayed in the cheapest motel in New Haven. Aside from the random hotel chairs around the parking lot, owners yelling at each other loudly in the staff room, people in the room next door having loud sex 24/7, and the overall moist feeling of the room, it was alright. The conference covered things like the importance of caring for the environment, how to properly help those in developing countries, and pitches.
            A nice lady who worked for a small group that makes flour from meal worms (it’s called MealFlour) gave us some cookies made with their flour. They were amazing. However, while talking to her along with the others from my group, our professor went on about the work the male student does for the lab at our university. Not only did she fail to mention that I, too do work in the research lab, when I went to mention it she cut me off. For someone who is all for woman power, she has a tendency to ignore the work of her female students.
           In the pursuit to get some wine the professor parked us in the middle of the road because she couldn’t find a parking place. Later after a glass she suggested that me and the male student date…. her drive to have me find a man, get married, and be a housewife is really on the creepy side. As if all of that isn’t annoying enough she informed me I need to work on being more photogenic because it is very important. I am who I am and I am not someone who takes decent photos.
Leave a Reply

