New me?

IMG_7279.JPGA few months back I went on an alternative spring break to New Orleans. Out of the 12 us going, I knew 1 of the leaders, and briefly met 2 other students and it was 10 females to 2 males. As a usually shy person I didn’t expect  to really make friends and figured I would mainly be with the leader that I knew. However, the exact opposite of this happened. They were/are the type of people I have always wanted in my life. They were strong, smart, independent, caring women (very much unlike the females in the town I am from). They weren’t afraid to say what they thought and like to have a good time. In that short week together, I felt myself coming out of my shell and being the person I want to be. I wanted to have more confidence and these ladies helped give me that. While the last 3 months have had stressful moments, this is the happiest I have been in years.

Leave a Reply

