Why are people so boring?

Maybe it’s a thing with age, but I feel like people are losing their sense of adventure. It seems that almost everyone I know is too scared to leave this state of Maine. Most of my friends also have degrees in biology, and let’s be honest, there isn’t many biology related jobs in this state. Rather than searching for jobs elsewhere, they would rather stay here and hope they find a job or do something not related to biology at all. This is of course fine if you find something you really enjoy.

One friend doesn’t want to go to due to a fear of flying. I get this, I also have a fear of flying which comes from an intense fear of heights. However, I am not letting that stop me. There is so much out there, the world is such a big place, why limit your experience of it due to a fear? Other people I know fear people. By this I mean, they know cities have a lot of people and just don’t want to have to go deal with that. It’s not like it is like anxiety, they just don’t want to have to take the time to deal with others.

I, on the other hand, would love to live a city. This could stem from living the last 22 years in a town consisting of around 1,000 people that most people don’t even know exists. It would be one thing to me if people didn’t want to/couldn’t travel because they can’t take time off from work or they didn’t have the money, but that’s not it. These people just don’t want to. They don’t want to move because they are comfortable here. I suppose I just love feeling small in an unknown place. I wish my friends would just grab life by the balls and make it their bitch…and travel with me.

 

Leave a Reply

